Musings of a Wanderlust

I have always been desperate for travel. Living in Ohio as a kid, I adored the yearly trips my family took to California to visit family. Something about the airport made me feel as if it were a magical place. The sights of diverse people, news paper stands and souvenir shops lining up and down the terminal halls. The smells of roasting coffee and sounds of rolling luggage, all brought me to a special place.

After moving to California, we hadn’t traveled much since then. With the low economy and short money, the extent of our trip resulted with small road trips to Vegas. In eighth grade, about 30 students including I, took a trip to Washington D.C. It was my first time in the nation’s capital and one of the best experience I could ever have. It was the first time I had traveled with friends, let alone some of my graduating class. The freedom to explore the hallow halls of the Smithsonian was an experience I would love to live again.

Now being a senior in high school, I try to find any reason or way I can to escape the ticky tackiness of the OC. This year alone, I have taken two trips to NYC..coming on three this weekend, and one road trip to NorCal along with several other road trips up to LA, etc.

Seeing the world and what it has to offer is something I’ve always dreamed of doing. People always ask how can I afford to go on all these trips. Truth is, I fund all of it by myself. Working part time along with savings, I use my funds toward my dream of travel.

College is coming up soon, and I hope to use it as an excuse to see even more of the world. I want to travel abroad and go on rescue missions in underprivileged countries. My dreams are limitless.

With a trip coming up this weekend, I can’t help but think how much I love traveling. I truly believe traveling is something everyone should do, despite how much money it costs; it’ll be an experience you’ll never forget. The airport is my happiest place on Earth. It is my Disneyland.

 

Leave a Reply

